History of the NHL

Timeline created by krprust
In History
  • NHL Started

    The National Hockey League (NHL) was founded from the the National Hockey Assosiation (NHA)
  • First Expansion

    The NHL expanded into the US. The Boston Bruins became a part of the NHL.
  • Further US Expansion

    The US now had grown to 10 teams in the NHL.
  • Great Depression

    The NHL lost 4 teams to the great depression, becuase the teams ran out of money. There were now only 6 teams left in the US.
  • Original Six

    The original six teams were the Boston Bruins, Chicago Black Hawks, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers and Toronto Maple Leafs.
  • Second expansion in the US

    This was the beginning of the second expansion in the US for the NHL.
  • Southern Expansion

    This was when the NHL expanded to the southern states.
  • NHL Lockout

    This year, the NHL had a lockout because an agreement could not be made about the players salary caps.
  • Winter Classic

    This was the start of the Winter Classic, which is an outdoor game played every year on New Years Day.
  • Atlanta Moves to Winepeg

    The Atlanta Thrashers move to Winepeg.
  • Period: to

    History of the NHL