American Revolution

Timeline created by Mahmoud.T
In History
  • The sugar act

    The sugar act
    The sugar act was the first taxation imposed on the colonist. It placed tax on sugar and other imports from non-British colonies
  • The stamp act

    The stamp act
    The stamp act was passed by the British parliament to increase the taxes in the colonist to pay for the seven years war.
  • The intolerable acts

    The intolerable acts
    The British passed a series of las known as the intolerable acts. These acts limited the colonist rights like shutting down the port of Boston.
  • The Declaration of Independence

    The Declaration of Independence
    The 2nd continental congress met and adopted the Declaration of Independence. It was written by Thomas Jefferson and established the United States as it’s own nation
  • Battle of Yorktown

    Battle of Yorktown
    The American and French defeat the British in Yorktown Virginia. After the British surrendered the French and Americans took many soldiers prisoner, including general Cornwallis
  • Articles of confederation

    Articles of confederation
    What the government was based upon before the constitution. Was considered a failure because it have the states more power than the government. They were in use from 1781-1787
  • The treaty of Paris

    The treaty of Paris
    The treaty of Paris ended the war. The 13 colonies acquired new territory and officially gained independence.
  • The constitution

    The constitution
    After the failure of the articles of confederation Congress adopted the constitution. It introduced a three branch system it have the federal government more power.