The colonial History of Perú

Timeline created by cookiesmonster
In History
  • Nov 15, 1532

    Francisco Pizarro arrived to Cajamarca

    Francisco Pizarro arrived to Cajamarca
    "The Spaniards began to fire their muskets and charged upon the Indians, killing them like ants. At the sound of the explosions and the jingle of bells on the horses' harnesses, the shock of arms and the whole amazing novelty of their attackers' appearance, the Indians were terrorstricken "
  • Nov 16, 1532

    Battle of Cajamarca

    Battle of Cajamarca
    Spanisch army took Inca Atahualpa as prisoner. End of Inca Empire.
  • Jan 18, 1535

    Lima was founded by Spaniards

    Lima was founded by Spaniards
    Francisco Pizarro started looking for a suitable place to establish "his" city. In the dessert stripe between the Pacific Ocean and the Andes in the fertile valley of the Rimac River (and two other rivers nearby that provided fresh water) he found the place he was looking for.
  • Nov 22, 1542

    The Royalty of Peru was established

    The Royalty of Peru was established
    'Virreinato del Perú' - Viceroyalty of Peru was a Spanish colonial administrative district that originally contained most of Spanish-ruled South America, governed from the capital of Lima.
  • Sep 24, 1572

    Tupac Amaru, the last Inca emperor, is captured and executed.

    Tupac Amaru, the last Inca emperor, is captured and executed.
    Tupac was the last emperor of the Incas. He was betrayed,captured and then killed by the Spanish.
  • Viceroyalty of New Granada was founded

    Viceroyalty of New Granada was founded
    It was established in the north part of Peru and correspond mainly to modern Colombia, Ecuador, Panama, and Venezuela.
  • Loss of domination over Viceroyalty of the Río de la Plata

    Loss of domination over Viceroyalty of the Río de la Plata
    After 1776, when Viceroyalty of the Río de la Plata became an independent land ( present-day Argentina, Uruguay, and a part of Bolivia) Peru lost its supremacy over this land.
  • Sierra uprising

    Sierra uprising
    Túpac Amaru II was the leader of this Indian rebellion. He was fighting for the rights of the Natives. After all the Indian's upspring failed and Túpac and his family were cruely executed.
  • Perú's independence is declared

    Perú's independence is declared
    General José de San Martin captures Lima from the Spanish and proclaims Peru independent. He becomes Perú's first President.
    Time of regime: 28.07.1821 - 20.09.1822
  • Battle of Ayacucho

    Battle of Ayacucho
    In the battle of Ayacucho the Peruvian independentists under the lead of Antonio José de Sucre y Alcalá defeat the spanish army and thus end the Peruvian War of Independence and ensure independence for the rest of South America.
  • Period:
    Jan 1, 900
    Jan 1, 1532

    Inca Empire

    The Inca Empire was the largest empire and dynasty in South-America before the European Invasion. From the 10th until the 16th century Incas had their great time. Before they were concquered, Incas managed to build the constructions such as sacsay huaman, pisac and koricancha. They are also famous for building aproximately 300km of roads.
  • Period:
    Nov 15, 1532

    Spanish viceroyalty in Perú

    The closest experience to local rule in the viceroyalty was the town councils (cabildos). Officials came from the local elite. Pizarro, for example, founded towns such as Lima and Trujillo, decided over the lands, and named local officials. Afterward, the city, assumed the right to sell or rent lands, levy taxes, regulate trade, oversee the markets and construct bridges. Indians were forcefully supressed, but rose up lots of times throughout the spanish regime.
  • Period:
    Jan 1, 1569
    Jan 1, 1581

    Peru under control of the vice King Francisco de Toledo

    It was a great time of improving the administration and exploration of silver - an important good of this colony. Furthermore the main feature of this period was the fact ,that the vice King had given the grounds containing Indians.
  • Period: to

    Peruvian War of Independence

    The Peruvian War of Independence was a series of military conflicts beginning in 1809 that culminated in the proclamation of the independence of Peru.