english literature

Timeline created by facebooker_10156399228676342
  • 450

    Old English (Anglo-Saxon) Period (450–1066)

    the Angles and the Saxons are two Germanic tribes which is where the nameAnglo-Saxon comes from. William, conquered England bringing over translations, of medical, religious, about nature and
    other works like"Beowulf" and poets like Caedmon and Cynewulf.
  • 1066

    Middle English Period (1066–1500)

    Middle English Period (–1500)
  • 1558

    The Renaissance (1558–1625)

    Is divided in 4 periods: Elizabethan Age (1558–1603) the golden age of English drama with names like Christopher Marlowe, Francis Bacon, Edmund Spenser, Sir Walter Raleigh, and William Shakespeare. Jacobean Age (1603–1625)under the reign of James I the translation of the Bible appeared. Contributions of John Donne, Shakespeare, Michael Drayton, John Webster, Elizabeth Cary, Ben Jonson, and Lady Mary Wroth
  • The Neoclassical Period (1600–1785)

    The Restoration (1660–1700) William Congreve and John Dryden. Samuel Butler, Aphra Behn, John Bunyan, and John Locke., The Augustan Age (1700–1745) Alexander Pope and Jonathan Swift, and The Age of Sensibility (1745–1785)Edmund Burke, Edward Gibbon, Hester Lynch Thrale, James Boswell, and Samuel Johnson
  • The Renaissance (1625–1660)

    Caroline Age (1625–1649) Charles I (“Carolus”). John Milton, Robert Burton, and George Herbert are some of the most important names for this age Commonwealth Period (1649–1660). Period of the English Civil War, theaters were closed for around 20 years in order to control public meetings and conspiracies. John Milton and Thomas Hobbes with their political writing ,In drama writers likeThomas Fuller, Abraham Cowley, and Andrew Marvell.
  • The Romantic Period (1785–1832)

    There are discutions about whenr this period started, some say it began with the french revolution, others that the book "Lyrical Ballads," by William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s is its true beginning.
  • The Victorian Period (1832–1901)

    “Early” (1832–1848), “Mid” (1848–1870) and “Late” (1870–1901) periods or into two phases, that of the Pre-Raphaelites (1848–1860) and that of Aestheticism and Decadence (1880–1901). Robert and Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Christina Rossetti, Alfred Lord Tennyson, and Matthew Arnold, Thomas Carlyle, John Ruskin, Walter Pater Charles Dickens, Charlotte, Emily Bronte, Elizabeth Gaskell, George Eliot (Mary Ann Evans), Anthony Trollope, Thomas Hardy, William Makepeace Thackeray, and Samuel Butler.
  • The Edwardian Period (1901–1914)

    Joseph Conrad, Ford Madox Ford, Rudyard Kipling, H.G. Wells, and Henry James, poets such as Alfred Noyes and William Butler Yeats, and dramatists like James Barrie, George Bernard Shaw, and John Galsworthy.
  • The Georgian Period (1910–1936)

    the Georgian poets, like Ralph Hodgson, John Masefield, W.H. Davies, and Rupert Brooke.
  • The Modern Period (1914–?)

    James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Aldous Huxley, D.H. Lawrence, Joseph Conrad, Dorothy Richardson, Graham Greene, E.M. Forster, and Doris Lessing; the poets W.B. Yeats, T.S. Eliot, W.H. Auden, Seamus Heaney, Wilfred Owens, Dylan Thomas, and Robert Graves; and the dramatists Tom Stoppard, George Bernard Shaw, Samuel Beckett, Frank McGuinness, Harold Pinter, and Caryl Churchill.
  • The Postmodern Period (1945–?)

    is the period after the World War II ended, with writer like: Samuel Beckett, Joseph Heller, Anthony Burgess, John Fowles, Penelope M. Lively,