Chapter 9 - The Confederation & the Constitution (1776 - 1790)

Timeline created by rebeccahettrick
In History
  • First Continental Congress calls for abolition of slavery

    First Continental Congress calls for abolition of slavery
    The First Continental Congress was a meeting of delegates from twelve of the thirteen colonies that met on September 5 to October 26, 1774 at Carpenters' Hall in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, early in the American Revolution. It was called in response to "The passage of the Coercive Acts" by the British Parliament. The Congress was attended by 55 delegates appointed by the legislatures of twelve of the thirteen colonies.
  • NJ constitution temporarily gives women the right to vote

    NJ constitution temporarily gives women the right to vote
    The status of women voters had been unclear for decades. The 1776 New Jersey Constitution had vaguely stated that “all inhabitants” of the state could vote. To remedy this, a voting law in 1790, which applied only to seven counties, had clarified the Constitution by using the phrase “he or she” in referring to voters. Finally, in an effort to create uniformity, the Assembly passed the 1797 voting law, recognizing the right of women to vote across the state.
  • AoC adopted by the Second Continental Congress

    AoC adopted by the Second Continental Congress
    After 16 months of debate, the Continental Congress, sitting in its temporary capital of York, Pennsylvania, agrees to adopt the Articles of Confederation and Perpetual Union on this day in 1777. Not until March 1, 1781, would the last of the 13 states, Maryland, ratify the agreement.
  • AoC put into effect

    AoC put into effect
    The Articles of Confederation, formally the Articles of Confederation and perpetual Union, was a document signed amongst the thirteen original colonies that established the United States of America as a confederation of sovereign states and served as its first constitution. Its drafting by a committee appointed by the Second Continental Congress began on July 12, 1776, and an approved version was sent to the states for ratification in late 1777.
  • Military officers form Society of the Cincinnati

    Military officers form Society of the Cincinnati
    The Society of the Cincinnati is a historical, hereditary lineage organization with branches in the United States and France, founded in 1783 to preserve the ideals and fellowship of the officers of the Continental Army who served in the American Revolutionary War. It is the oldest lineage society in North America.
  • Land Ordinance of 1785

    Land Ordinance of 1785
    The Land Ordinance of 1785 was adopted by the Continental Congress in the United States on May 20, 1785. Under the Articles of Confederation, Congress did not have the power to raise revenue by direct taxation of the inhabitants of the United States. Therefore, the immediate goal of the ordinance was to raise money through the sale of land in the largely unmapped territory west of the original states acquired after the end of the Revolutionary War in the 1783 Treaty of Paris.
  • Virginia Statute for religious freedom

     Virginia Statute for religious freedom
    The Virginia Statute for Religious Freedom was drafted in 1777 by Thomas Jefferson in the city of Fredericksburg, Virginia. On January 16, 1786, the Assembly enacted the statute into the state's law. The statute disestablished the Church of England in Virginia and guaranteed freedom of religion to people of all religious faiths. The statute was a notable precursor of the Establishment Clause and Free Exercise Clause of the First Amendment to the United States Constitution.
  • Shays Rebellion

    Shays Rebellion
    Shays '​ Rebellion was an armed uprising that took place in Massachusetts during 1786 and 1787. Fueled by perceived economic terrorism and growing disaffection with State and Federal governments, Daniel Shays led a group of rebels in rising up first against Massachusetts' courts, and later in marching on the United States' Federal Armory at Springfield in an unsuccessful attempt to seize its weaponry and overthrow the government.
  • Annapolis Convention - meeting of five states to discuss revision of the AoC

    Annapolis Convention - meeting of five states to discuss revision of the AoC
    The Annapolis Convention, formally titled as a Meeting of Commissioners to Remedy Defects of the Federal Government was a national political convention held September 11–14, 1786 at Mann's Tavern in Annapolis, Maryland, in which twelve delegates from five states–New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Delaware, and Virginia–gathered to discuss and develop a consensus about reversing the protectionist trade barriers that each state had erected.
  • Constitutional Convention in Philadephia

    Constitutional Convention in Philadephia
    The Constitutional Convention took place from May 25 to September 17, 1787, in Philadelphia, to address problems in governing the United States of America, which had been operating under the Articles of Confederation. Although the Convention was intended to revise the Articles of Confederation, the intention of many of its proponents was to create a new government rather than fix the existing one. The result of the Convention was the creation of the United States Constitution.
  • Northwest Ordinance

    Northwest Ordinance
    The Northwest Ordinance was an act of the Congress of the Confederation of the United States (the Confederation Congress), passed July 13, 1787. The ordinance created the Northwest Territory, the first organized territory of the United States, from lands beyond the Appalachian Mountains, between British Canada and the Great Lakes to the north and the Ohio River to the south. The upper Mississippi River formed the Territory's western boundary.
  • Ratification by nine states ensures a new government under the Constitution

    Ratification by nine states ensures a new government under the Constitution
    Transmitted to the Articles Congress then sitting in New York City, the Constitution was forwarded to the states by Congress recommending the ratification process outlined in the Constitution. Each state legislature was to call elections for a "Federal Convention" to ratify the Constitution. New Hampshire became the ninth state to ratify the document, and it was subsequently agreed that government under the U.S. Constitution would begin on March 4, 1789.