British taxation Time Line

Timeline created by Zachary Ingledue
In History
  • Treaty of Paris signed

    Treaty of Paris signed
    This treaty ended the 7 Years War, leaving Britain with a lot of debt.
  • Sugar Act passed

    Sugar Act passed
    The Sugar Act was passed to prevent colonists from smuggling sugar and molasses to other countries so Britain can make more money through making rum.
  • Currency Act Passed

    Currency Act Passed
    The Currency Act was passed, banning the colonies from using paper currency.
  • Stamp Act passed

    Stamp Act passed
    The Stamp Act taxed every paper product, such as ship papers, legal documents, licenses, newspapers, and playing cards.
  • British repeal the Stamp Act

    British repeal the Stamp Act
    The British repeal the Stamp Act after colonists boycotted paper goods.
  • British repeal most of the Townshend Acts

    British repeal most of the Townshend Acts
    The British Parliament repealed all the Townshend Acts except the Tea Act.
  • The Boston Tea Party

    The Boston Tea Party
    The colonists react to the Tea Act by disguising as Native Americans and then threw British tea into the ocean, causing Britain to lose a lot of money.
  • Intolerable/Coercive Acts passed

    The British react to the Boston Tea Party with numerous punishments, such as shutting down the Boston Harbor until all the money lost from the Boston Tea Party was paid for and took over the Massachusetts government to take control.
  • Restraining Acts passed

    Restraining Acts passed
    Britain banned colonists from trading with other countries entirely. This prevented them from smuggling goods easily.
  • Period: to

    Townshend Act passed

    The Townshend Acts were passed, taxing paper, paint, lead, glass, and tea, which are all British imports.