Timeline created by JJTomGeorgia
In History
  • 1,803 BCE


    Captain Arthur Phillip of the First Fleet, having decided to sail ahead of the rest of the fleet to prepare for the new settlement.
  • 1,790 BCE


  • The first Fleet

    when captain james cook first arrived in australia in the 1800 in 1770
  • 1791

    the first ship of the third fleet and arrived in sydney cove
  • traveled around tasmania

    George Bass and Matthew Flinders sailed from Sydney traveled from Tasmania,
  • the discovery of castle hill

    castle hill was also known as vinegar hill.
  • the first bank

    the first australian bank was opened in macquarie place sydney the bank was renamed westpac in 1982
  • 1826

    New South Wales established first settlement in Western Australia at King George Sound. named Frederick Town but renamed Albany in 1832.
  • 1829

  • 1831

    The convicts returned to new south wales
  • 1856

    Van Diemen's Land was changed to Tasmania
  • 1858

    Sydney and Melbourne are both linked to the electric telegraph
  • 1860

    John mcdouall stuart reached the centre of the continent
  • 1861

    Australia introduced by Norwegians in the Snowy Mountains.
  • 1864

    Great fire of Brisbane
  • 1867

    The gold was discovered at Gympie,Queensland
    St Mary Mackillop founded sisters of st Joseph
  • 1868

    The transportation of convicts traveled to Western Australia ceased.
  • 1872

    The Overland Telegraph Line linking to Darwin and Adelaide opened
  • 1873

    Uluru was first found by Europeans, and they renamed it Ayers rock
  • 1875

    The Adelaide Steamship was formed
  • 1878

    First horse-drawn trams in Australia were changed to Adelaide
  • Period: to